don’t ask the neighbor about this one

I have never had a zombie
leave me flat
when the cool kids came around
or
break the toys they knew
my folks couldn’t afford to replace.

I have never had a zombie
give me a bum stock tip
or
slip a mickey into my drink
in hopes of picking the bones.

No zombie I know of
ever even considered
wiping dog shit on my leg
for the amusement
of the parish magnates.

And to my working knowledge,
zombies do not
rape, rob or imprison their own.

they do not throw fights
or
extort you into doing it.

And where I come from,
moaning “BRAINS!!!!”

is considered
fair warning.

I wanted to make this poem
more elegant
but sometimes
you
just have to say it.

3 thoughts on “don’t ask the neighbor about this one

Leave a Reply

